LFW Shows/Presentations: Day One

London Fashion Week  A/W 2011 kicked off  with Paul Costelloe who showcased a collection full bold plaids and vibrant colour.

As soon as the show was over I bolted so I could beat the queues for press passes and then I grabbed a bite to eat before making my way to the exhibitions. First stop was the BFC ELLE Talent Launch Pad Event where I saw the amazing new collection from Yunus and Eliza fine artists turned jewellers. Their designs were beautiful and many inspired by birds which is ironic since they seemed to evoke someone’s inner magpie as they swiped one of the pieces. My heart goes out to Yunus and Eliza, it’s not a very nice thing to happen and I hope the organisers find the culprit and ban them from future events.

Next I paused to admire and get some snaps of the Headonism exhibit were I fell in love with the creations of Piers Atkinson. The Autumn/Winter ’11 collection is a nod to 1930’s Paris and features rich colours; dark navy, deep purple, black and gold. I have become a fan of daring head gear in recent years so maybe next season you will see me sporting a Piers Atkinson number as I have to admit I was quite drawn to the giant black cherry headband.

Moving swiftly through the exhibition rooms I made my way to the Orla Kiely presentation where I watched a quirky fashion film directed by Mercedes Helnwein. The film was played in what looked like several human sized bird houses and there were tree sculptures all around the room. The collection flaunts a palette of peacock blues and lichen greens on cable knit skits and jackets and jacquard dresses along side tailored check suits in creams and camels.

After that I had some time on my hands so I went outside to take some street style photographs. I captured some cool outfits and almost lost track of time chatting to one particularly stylish young lady but still made it to my final show of the day which was Corrie Nielsen. The stand out piece from this show has to be this fabulous rich navy gown with its indulgent use of fabric to create volume and structure.

Leave a Reply

