Friend Friday: Choosing the right content for you

While thinking up this week’s questions Katy of ModlyChic pondered over how we as bloggers maintain our voice while participating in ‘blogging events’ such as Friend Friday and 30 for 30. Some take the opinion that there are bloggers who participate in these exercises in order to garner a little more fame while others are authentic and want to contribute to the wider blogging community. I think this is interesting and it makes me wonder whether this is reflected in their content and interactions with other bloggers but that’s another story. Today we will be looking at how we as bloggers participate in these movements while stay true to ourselves.

1. With all the blogging events out there how do you determine which ones to participate in and which ones to avoid?

The only blogging event that I participate in is Friend Friday. I join in with this particular weekly activity because I thought it was a good way to interact with others bloggers and contribute to the larger community. It has been a fantastic source of information and I have enjoyed learning about the mechanics of blogging form blog veterans.

I have noticed other blogging events but I yet to find one that really makes me want to get involved because of some unique or interesting angle. I may take part in other blogging events in the future but I will only ever join in if I genuinely believe I can make a valid contribution.

2. Be honest, have you ever jumped on the bandwagon of some blogging movement/event for the wrong reasons? How did that turn out?

No there are lots of blogging movements/events I have considered being a part of but in the end I will only join in with some I will enjoy and can do a good job with. I think some of the style projects like 30 for 30 could be an interesting challenge but I think I would eventually become bored and frustrated. When you look at it like that why bother I think blogging should be a labour of love and for me an activity that involves me creating outfits out of 30 items of clothing over a period of 30 days would become a chore.

3. How do you give your own flair to a blog event while still maintaining the general mission and purpose?

I always try to infuse my personality into my responses when writing my Friend Friday posts as I think along with my original content it is the most important thing about my blog. If I ever decide to join in any other projects I will try to ensure that the content I include stays true to my style of blogging.

4. When determining the best content for your blog what criterion do you keep in mind?

There is no real criteria for what makes it onto my blog I just write what I feel. Although I admire those who do daily style posts I stay away from them because I know I don’t have the time to do it well. This is the attitude I take with all my content if I can’t do it well I just won’t do it.

5. While everything will not suit your blog, how do you try and support your fellow bloggers who are participating in something worthwhile but not your style?

If I come across an interesting blogging movement/event that I admire or think is important I will promote it on twitter and leave comments on the blogs even if I decide not to participate directly.

6 responses to “Friend Friday: Choosing the right content for you

  1. I agree, blogging should be a labor of love and not a chore or a burden. That’s what makes it fun is that we get to have complete control over our blogs and no one gets to tell us if something is right or wrong for our blogs.

Leave a Reply

