Tatty Devine Sample Sale

Brick Lane is one of London’s trendy hot spots and a popular haunt for the city’s cool kids so it’s a wonder that I haven’t been there before cos surely I’m the coolest kid around. Anyway I have been meaning to visit for a while to check out the vintage shops but kept putting it off cos I thought are well they aren’t going anywhere.  But when I heard that Tatty Devine were having a sample sale at their Brick Lane store I knew this wasn’t one to be missed so I rushed down there as fast as my little legs would carry me (or as fast as my then boyfriend could drive there at least).

We parked at the top of the road and started walking all the while taking in the sights and smells the area has a great atmosphere it’s gritty and fabulous all at the same time. There is so much to take in we didn’t get far before bumping into an army of singing Santas which was very entertaining.

Then I was lured into the Boiler House Food Hall by the fragrant aroma of worldwide cuisine mmm everything looked so yummy but I decided not to stop and eat because I had to get to Tatty Devine before all the good stuff was gone. Then I spotted the Yummy Boutique stand and my heart skipped a beat because I am a complete cupcake addict and theirs looked beyond delicious. I decided to buy a choc mint one and I have to say the name of company is more than fitting.

Energised by my chocolate treat I plodded on to the sample sale. There was a very slow moving queue that spilled over the doorstep and onto the pavement so I took a few pictures while I waited outside.

Then finally I made it into the store and there were so many gorgeous pieces to choose from but unfortunately I was on a budget. After much deliberation I settled on a really cool brooch and a quirky pair of earrings that I had seen online and fallen in love with.

After making my purchases I tried on an awesome zip necklace that I would never be brave enough to wear outside but I admired its coolness so I got my boyfriend to snap me wearing it. Then I browsed the new collections which I thought were genius, especially the pieces inspired aviator gear. I also love their ornaments I would love to have a giant name sign made to hang up in my room but alas I was informed they rarely commission pieces like this which is a shame because I think they would be really popular.

Tatty Devine has become a cult classic of British fashion and judging by the crowd at the sample sale its appeal is not wavering. The brand was established ten years ago by Harriet Vine and Rosie Wolfenden who design every piece most of  which is made by hand in Tatty Devine’s own workshops. Both ladies studied fine art and their background is reflected in their creations. They are recognised  for their jewellery in acrylic silhouette shapes but they also design pieces created in textiles, wood, leather, veneer and enamel. They launch two main collections at London Fashion Week every year but also have a permanent collection of popular classics called The Best Of Tatty Devine.

Tatty Devine is a jewellery brand like no other, their pieces are so creative and fun they add that something special to any outfit and that’s why Hannah loves it.

5 responses to “Tatty Devine Sample Sale

  1. Oh how gorgeous! I’ll bulldoze my way to Brick Lane if it weren’t for the thousands of miles separating us. Purchased a Tatty Devine bracelet and brooch today from a website… ouch! Love love love the giant zipper necklace.

  2. Hi there terrific blog! Does running a blog like this take a massive amount work?
    I’ve absolutely no understanding of computer programming however I was hoping to start my own blog soon. Anyways, if you have any suggestions or techniques for new blog owners please share. I understand this is off subject but I just wanted to ask. Cheers!

    • Hi, thanks for stopping by…

      Blogging is a labour of love so it’s up to you how much time you spend doing it but I definitely think you get out of it as much as you put in. There are lots of great sites that allow you to create a blog for free and they are usually very easy to use; mine is a template powered by WordPress.

      First thing you have to do is decide what you want to blog about. If you write about things that excite or inspire you, you’ll always have something interesting to say. Blogging helped me find my writing voice, I had a great time, learnt a lot about the industry I love and met lots of cool people.

      Start your blog today, you never know what it might lead to.

      H x

Leave a Reply

