Friend Friday: Blog Envy

This week me and the Friend Friday crew are talking about the influence of ‘successful’ fashion blogs and how they affect our view of our own blogs.  This is an interesting topic because I am always reading different fashion blogs and trying to find out what makes the popular blogs special and how I can infuse some of their magic into my own.

1. Have you ever looked at someone’s blog and thought yours will never measure up?

I would never look at anyone’s work and say to myself that I will never measure up because negative thinking is not going to get me anywhere. I do however frequently look at blogs that appear to have high readerships and try to learn from them. There are some fashions blogs that lure me back time after time because of their high quality content be it engaging writing or visually stimulating images and I am not surprised that they have a strong following. Then there are blogs with poor layouts and recycled or shallow content who appear to have heaps of followers and this baffles me. I have to confess that when faced with them I feel a little blog envy because they have what I want but for no good reason. When all is said and done looking at the achievements of other bloggers and getting jealous is not going to help me get where I want to be.  I just have to focus on developing my writing, photography and design skills so that can make my blog the best it can be.

2. Do you (did you) feel pressure to meet some kind of undefined standard for fashion bloggers?

I do to some extent especially when I come across blogs that have been around for less time than mine but have made a bigger impact on the blogging world. So many bloggers hold down full time jobs and still find time to write regular posts and when I can just about manage to publish one a week I feel like a bit of a flake.
3. Many established fashion bloggers are also extraordinary DIYers, bakers, and crafty people. Do you think you need to combine all of these things to be successful at blogging?

I think having these skills can add another dimension to a bloggers work but I don’t think they are essential to produce a successful blog. For me the most important thing is finding interesting things to write about and doing it well.

4. The most successful blogs are the ones that have their own personal voice – how are you developing your voice or how did you find yours?

I am often complimented on my writing style and this makes me really happy because for months after completing my journalism degree I was crippled by fear at the thought of writing in the real world. This blog has helped me get over my fear and slowly my voice has started to shine through. I try to write how I speak. I have quite a quirky personality and some playful character traits so I try to convey this through prose so that my readers get a feel for who I am.

5. Toot your own horn… what’s one thing you do that is unique to you and your blog? What gives your blog an edge?

I don’t think I have found my edge yet, I try to talk about things that I have experienced for myself. I like going to events and exhibitions to see fashion live and then I tell my story here.  I guess when I carve out a niche in doing this that will give my blog the extra something it needs to keep fashion lovers reader my blog despite the fact the internet is now saturated with wannabe fashionistas and their online ramblings.

To read the answers of the other group members who participated this week go to ModlyChic.

10 responses to “Friend Friday: Blog Envy

  1. Such well articulated answers. I too hate poor layouts and recycled content. I work hard too make sure they don’t apply to my own blog 🙂

  2. don’t feel flaky for only being able to crank out a post a week. It’s the quality that matters.

    Some people blog every day and it can be overwhelming to readers that their stuff doesn’t all get read and what’s the point if it’s not read right? I just say write your best stuff and the followers will come 🙂

    • Yeah quality is definitely the most important thing but I think this year I am going to try and publish at least 2-3 posts a week. Thanks for dropping by and showing support.

  3. I really like your answer for no. 1 – seriously I can’t understand those kind of blogs and their followship either. But I give my very not to envy them but to be happy for their achievements…it’s hard though!

    Love, Diana

Leave a Reply

