Friend Friday: Engaging with your readers

This week we are talking about reader connectedness. These questions got me to thinking, how strong is my connection with my readers and what can I do it encourage them to engage with me and my blog? Hopefully I will find some answers after completing this exercise.

To particpate in this exercise which is organised my Katy of Modly Chic just click Friend Friday.

1. How important do you think reader connectedness is to the success of your blog?

I think it is extremely important, I started my blog to improve my writing skills but all people who write, from novelists, to journalists to bloggers, do so because they want someone to read their work and get something from it. I enjoy writing my blog and I want people to enjoy reading it. For me I will feel like my blog is a success when I can see that I am encouraging people to be confident in their style or exposing fashion lovers to events that they wouldn’t have thought to attend but go because I recommend it and share their experience through a comment on my post.

2. What do you do to draw readers in and create that writer-reader bond?

This is something that I am still working on. I want to ensure that the quality of my posts is of a high standard that remains consistent. At the moment I write about random things that capture my attention, or about events I attend or would like to attend. Eventually I want to have a niche that will help me develop a unique twist to my blog that will keep readers coming back.

3. What is one way you could improve this connection?

Responding to all comments and emails as quickly as possible so I guess I need to improve my time management. Bare with me guys

4. Is there a blogger you think does a great job creating that writer-reader bond? Why?

She’s gonna start to think I am a stalker lol but I have to say Vahni of Grit and Glamour. Firstly she writes helpful posts I particularly liked the one she did a while back about how to improve your photographs. I also think it is amazing that she appears to respond to every comment she gets even though she must get hundreds.  I think it is important for bloggers to interact with their audience because it’s that level of engagement that makes blogging special and separates online fashion writers from print writers.

5. What do you do to cultivate new readers? How do you get them to your site in the first place?

In the beginning I used just give business cards to people I would photograph in the street or people I met at events. I still do this but now I also use my Facebook Fan Page and Twitter, these are fantastic resources for cultivating a high readership and connecting with other bloggers.

 

To all my lovely readers new and old please leave comments with your suggestions, I am a newbie and always eager to learn and get inspiration from other bloggers and general fashion lovers who read my blog.

 

Leave a Reply

