Friend Friday: Blogger Burnout

Friend Friday is an exercise organised by Katy Rose of Modly Chic. Every week she poses questions for a community of fashion and beauty bloggers who post their answers on their blogs. This week’s questions were prompted by the announced closure of the  Fashion Butter blog and  the comments it received from other bloggers.  Some said they feel the stress that is involved in the work they do and may also be take a break from blogging.

This is an interesting topic for me because I really enjoy writing my blog and would love to do it full-time.  I have a day job and I struggle to find the time to write regular posts and keep my blog consistently current and interesting. I would also like to do other things to improve my blog such as taking photography and Photoshop classes so I can produce visually stimulating images to accompany my writing.

Anywhoo here are my answers to Katy’s questions

1. How many hours a week do you spend blogging? Has that number changed since you started blogging?

Up untill recently I would blog sporadically (I love that I learned this word watching the movie Clueless), often after attending an event or if something related to personal style or a new trend if fashion that had caught my interest.  These days I am trying to write more frequently so I spend time looking for events to attend, going out into the streets taking photographs of stylish Londoners and trawling the internet looking for interesting developments in fashion to talk about. If I had to guesstimate I would say I spend about 10-15 hours doing things related to blogging.

2. There is always more you can do, write, read, comment on… how do you limit your time spent on these tasks?

I don’t put limits on these things I just do what I can when I can.  Some days I do none of the above and others I will be up till the early hours reader fashion books and magazines or other blogs. I never know when I am going to be inspired by something or someone so I leave myself open.

3. Have you experienced Blogger burnout yet? How have you dealt with that?

Iam relatively new to the blogging came as I only started my blog in February of this year. I don’t write as often as I feel I should and this is the main reason for me experiencing blogger burnout. I constantly feel under pressure to write and get frustrated when I feel I have nothing interesting to say. I also get a little stressed when I have been to a lot of events I feel I can’t produce my posts in a timely manner making them loose their relevance.

Me trying to think of an angle for an exhibition review

For a short period of time I attempted to do a daily style post via Tumblr but I grew tired of  having to think of a cute outfit to wear everyday and then there was the bother of setting up the camera and composing and interesting shot. My hat goes off to style bloggers everywhere, especially the fabulous lady of WhatKatieWore her outfits are always, fun, daring or just plain fabulous.

4. This time of the year is always a lot busier than any other time. Will your blogging change as a result?

December and January should be extremely busy months for me as I have a few fashion shows to attend one of which I will be gracing the catwalk for, super excited about that. I also have my birthday, Christmas and News Years to look forward to, in that order, but I hoping this will just give me more to write about and some spare time to do it because of the Christmas holidays.

5. Could you foresee a moment in which you are not blogging anymore? How would you identify that it’s time to walk away?

I didn’t start blogging just for fun it was a way for me to kick start my career, I wanted to be a fashion journalist and blogging was a way for me to develop my skills and showcase my talent. I have now turned my sights to fashion PR but blogging has proved to be useful for this too. I doubt I will ever walk away from blogging, it will just evolve and grow as I do.

 

2 responses to “Friend Friday: Blogger Burnout

  1. You’re right, Hannah, your blog will evolve and grow with you. That’s the beautiful thing about blogging…the sky is the limit!

    Thanks again for your sweet comment on my FBFF post. You keep believing in yourself and interacting with other bloggers and you’ll go far.

    ♥ V
    http://www.gritandglamour.com
    twitter: @gritandglamour

Leave a Reply

