London Fashion Week S/S 2011

Dear Diary London Fashion Week is upon us again and this season I have had the pleasure of attending as British Fashion Council accredited press. I didn’t get to go to any on-schedule shows, which is disappointing, but that just spurs me on to elevate my online presence over the next 5 months to ensure I get all the invites I want in February.

Anywhoo LFW started early for me as I attended Fashion Diversity VIP Gala event on Thursday 16 September on behalf of Deborah St Louis Editor in Chief of Fashion Finest.

Press had been invited to preview collections from Mong, Nina’s world, Aaron Purean Khan, AAMAA Couture, Black by Sasha James, Patrick Kevin, who were all showcasing at the Fashion Diversity events over the following days.

The catwalk was graced with an eclectic mix of styles from creations that infused African print with contemporary chic to designs that employed futuristic prints on silk complimented with leather.

Following the show 3 respected designers Jolaby, Patrick Kevin and Adebayo Jones, were presented with awards to celebrate their success within the industry over the years.

Once all the excitement was over, guests gathered for a post-show reception where I bumped into an old university friend who is now working in publishing so that was a nice bonus.

The next day I went back so I could get some better pictures of the collections before going to The Strand Palace Hotel to the Fashion Mavericks event. I went to see the catwalk show for Rinda Sulman’s S/S 2011, NEUROSIS, womenswear collection.  This dramatic collection was full of vibrant colour and each garment featured digital artwork that had been printed into the fabric. Sulman had used jersey, cotton, silk georgette and silk twill which she combined with synthetic leather silk and nylon and all her models wore gorgeous headpieces.

After the show I introduced myself to recent LCF Footwear graduate Elizabeth Dunn who was also showcasing at Fashion Mavericks that day. Her shoes are amazing and her exhibition stand had these fantastic pieces of artwork to accompany each shoe design. Dunn also had these great leather books, with her logo embossed into the cover, that explained the creative process undertaken for each design. I would love one of those for my scrap-book, maybe I’ll get in contact and ask her to make me one.

After all that I grabbed a bite to eat and then made my way down to Somerset House to collect my press pass. This was a very exciting experience for me, (man am I a loser) I loved seeing the photographers snapping all the fashionable people as they walked in. I stood and watched for a while and then went to the registration desk collected my pass and received my LFW Mulberry bag which I shall cherish forever or till next season, whatever.

To end a fantastic day I met up with my colleagues at Sassi PR to attend the preview of ‘Just Wright’ at the London headquarters of Twentieth Century Fox. It is another hollywood rom-com and stars rappers turned actors Common and Queen Latifah. The storyline is nothing special but it did provoke an emotional response from me and had me shouting at the screen which is something I never usually do. The film illustrates how shallow and foolish men can be when presented with a beautiful woman which was a little frustrating to watch on the big screen but ah well. In the end Common’s character Scott McKnight comes to his senses and ends up with the right girl, no pun intend.  Common is looking ridiculously hot in this film and lets just say I wouldn’t kick him out of bed for making crumbs.

Saturday 18 September I was up bright and early to watch the Craig Lawrence Presentation at 9:30am. He showcased his S/S 2011 collection which featured delicate knitted gowns in metallic greens and whites. It was a glorious sunny morning so the room was bathed with light illuminating Craig’s exquisite creations and highlighting their intricate detail. His models appeared like ghostly figures gliding around the room pausing momentarily to make intense contact with photographers through their camera lenses.

Refreshments came in the form of drinks at the Little Devil Bloody Mary bar and delicious baked treats courtesy of Mouse and de Lotz on the balcony which had a gorgeous view of London. A spicy vodka cocktail before midday might be a bit too hard-core for some but not me I’m a bad girl ; ). The cakes were pretty scrumptious too. fashion and alcohol, I can’t think of a better way to spend my Saturday.

On my way out I was snapped by one of the style spotters from My Sugarland does this mean I’m one of the fashionable people ooh check me out!

That night I went to the La Geneve North ‘A La Mode’ international catwalk show at the Charing Cross Hotel.  I saw my favourite collections from the three days here.

No.1 on my list is Ukrainian designer Valery Kovalska who presented her Spring/Summer 2011 collection ‘Professional Suicides’.  The spirit and the mood of the ‘Professional Suicides’ collection was complimented by the rock music that played as the models took to the catwalk. The colours of the garments perfectly fit the style and the mood of this theme – red, blue, black and a little bit of beige – these colors symbolised unknown magic, mystery and dark powers of nature.  Valery Kovalska always works with natural fabrics such as cotton, wool, denim, leather but the two distinguishing features showcased on the catwalk through the geometry and the clearness of lines.

The second is MALAM, unlike most fashion designers MALAM’s Emmanuelle-Marie does not create seasonal collections.  The current collection is called “Poupées Perdues” which means Lost Dolls; it is mostly inspired by childhood, fairytales, and historical clothing.

Enchanting music played as MALAM’s models took to the catwalk wearing the brand’s fairy tale inspired creations. The designs came in a palette of pastel pinks and blues and featured tailored jackets with pixie like hoods, romantic gowns and feminine dresses.

After the show it was the after party and after the party it was the hotel lobby, well more like my friends sofa but hey.

That was the end of LFW for me, lame I know but I got sick and couldn’t muster up the energy to face anymore shows but next year I won’t miss a thing and my loyal followers can read all about it right here.

Leave a Reply

