Vivienne Westwood’s Shoes

Dear Diary I am honest to God, Vivienne Westwood’s biggest fan so when I found out that she had unveiled her shoe retrospective at Selfridges I couldn’t get down there fast enough. As I approached the Ultralounge space, where ‘Vivienne Westwood’s Shoes – an Exhibition’ was being held, I was filled with excitement.

Ribbon, wood, leather, suede, velvet, rubber, feathers, fabric, and patent… over 200 shoes comprised of these materials and every one so beautiful. They came in all shapes and sizes, from impossibly high heels to quirky flats and everything in between. I had too many favourites to mention but top of the list came  the ‘Can Shoes’ from the ‘Ultra Femininity’ collection S/S 2005. I had my friend take pictures as I had left my camera at home that morning not knowing that I would have the pleasure of viewing so many wonderful shoes that afternoon.

Walking the isles of the exhibition hall was truly an awe inspiring experience that stimulated my shoe lust. It was interesting to see how many trends have resurfaced and evolved over the years. My favourite example being, the Apollo Wing Shoe of 1988 which was re-worked for the Vivienne Westwood Anglomania + Melissa collaboration which launched in 2008. Originally crafted in what looked like white wood and leather this design now has a new life as a jelly shoe. I couldn’t be happy about this of course, as I was too young to own a pair the first time round and I think the new jelly versions are magnificent.

Back in 88′

Today’s modern revamp

Some of the designs would be too adventurous for the average shoe lover but there is something for everyone. I am convinced that every woman everywhere could go to this exhibition and find a shoe that excites her just as I did.

I whole heartedly agree with this quote from the Grande Dame herself “Shoes must have very high heels and platforms to put women’s beauty on a pedestal”.  When I slip my feet into a gorgeous pair of high heels I instantly feel more confident and sexy, I am sure many women experience the same thing.

If you are a lover of shoes and you appreciate the awesomeness that is Vivienne Westwood get yourself down to this exhibition, its running until Wednesday 22nd September.

Leave a Reply

