Narcissistic bloggers

The topic of discussion for Friend Friday members this week centres around narcissism and whether bloggers are inherently guilty of it.  The dictionary defines narcissism as excessive love or admiration of oneself, can this really be applied to those who use images of themselves to inspire? Here are my thoughts

1. Do you think personal fashion blogging is inherently narcissistic?

The more I think about it the more conflicted I become. I can only speak for myself but when I post pictures it is to share my ideas and opinions about style it is not an attempt to convey to the world my self adoration. Perhaps for some bloggers this is the intention but I don’t believe that is the case for the majority.

2. I think we can all agree, that certainly some blogs are personal odes to the blogger. In your opinion what makes a blog narcissistic?

If the main objective of the blog is to show how wonderful the blogger looks, but I am yet to come across a blog like this.

3. Would you classify your blog as narcissistic? Why?

I don’t consider my blog to be narcissistic because it doesn’t solely focus on me and my style. What I love about blogs is that anyone can become a fashion blogger regardless of race, body-type or anything else for that matter which means their are a wealthof  opinions being expressed. If a girl like me who is clearly not a size zero is brave enough to post pictures of themselves and share ideas about fashion I think that can only be a good thing as it may give other women of all shapes and sizes the confidence to embrace their own sense of style.

4. How can we combat the idea that because we share personal style thoughts/pictures we are automatically full of ourselves?

Everyone is entitled to their own opinion I don’t think we should have to explain or justify what we do. I suppose people will form opinions based on the content, style and tone of our posts. I think bloggers should feel proud that they had the courage and conviction to confidently share their thoughts and opinions about something they love.

5. How do you explain what you do to others in a way that doesn’t come across as narcissistic?

Well as my blog is as much about showcasing new talent in fashion and discussing the style of others as it is about my own style so I doubt anyone would perceive it as narcissistic. If they did I don’t suppose the giant picture in the middle of my post would help my case… ah well ; )

5 responses to “Narcissistic bloggers

  1. I so agree! and i love this:

    What I love about blogs is that anyone can become a fashion blogger regardless of race, body-type or anything else for that matter which means their are a wealthof opinions being expressed.”

    that’s why i love them too–its nice to see normal women being fashionable, not just magazine models.

  2. I have to agree with the love for the comment about how anyone can be a fashion blogger. That is one of the things I love most about this… anyone, no matter their size, proportions, hair color, facial structure, etc… can be a blogger. And they can be a successful one too.

Leave a Reply

